July 1, 2016

Partly cloudy

Social Scene: Debutantes honored at YWCA Leadership Tea

By Angela Huston
Special to The Gazette

Mothers, grandmothers, aunts, sisters and friends joined the 2008 Debutantes for the YWCA Leadership Tea on April 20 at Western Reserve Masonic Community. Co-chair Marilyn Sidaway was program emcee.

Sidaway recognized special guests, among them Doris Loomis Beal, a debutante from the first Ball, and attending Women of Distinction, including 99-year-old Helen Stephenson.

She then introduced guest speaker Lucy Sondles, executive director of Leadership Medina County. Sondles stressed the importance of volunteering, doing community service and extending oneself on behalf of others.

Medina County Commissioner Pat Geissman, Sidaway and Sondles presented proclamations from the commissioners and the Ohio House of Representatives to each debutante.

Geissman and Sondles each drew a name for the $500 scholarships made possible by Westfield Bank; the debutantes are all considered equally eligible candidates. The winners were Heidi Santelmann and Crystal Boykin. Two more names were drawn, Rachel Sniff and Emily McElroy; their mothers received gift certificates from Reflections. Molly Adams and Kristen Weight reviewed important last minute details in preparation for the ball.
Finally, each girl received a memento from the YWCA and a gift bag from Alvin Jewelers.

Among the guests were three generations of the Stoll Family: Debutante Kelsy Stoll, her mother Diane Stoll, grandmother Margaret Stoll and maternal grandmother Jean Fricker, all properly attired for tea in hats and gloves.

Other guests included Roberta Gifford, Janie Parish, Judy Heller, Barbara Dzur, Anna Guy Leach, Carrie Valentin and Christine Beiling.

Special thanks was extended to committee members as well as to event sponsors FirstMerit Bank, Dr. Neil Grabenstetter, Medina County Women’s Journal, Medina Vision and Laser Centre, Auditor Michael Kovack, Western Reserve Masonic Community and Westfield Bank.

Spring showcase

The Annual Spring Showcase Performance of Medina County’s Tour de Force Entertainment Company took place the weekend of April 19 and 20 on the Medina High School Center Stage. The company of 36 students ranging in age from 11 to 18 presented 25 extremely well-executed dance numbers, this year with a strong emphasis on tap dancing.

The selections showcased the students’ individual talents, with seniors Arica Wolfe, Taylor Williamson, Olivia Conley, Lindsey Copley, Justine Teachout, Lauren Hesley, Dawn Gottlieb, Morgan Wolk and “Xan” Potter each performing solos.

The routines had all the combined elements that make for good entertainment — sensitivity, poignancy, exhilaration, creativity, whimsy and gracefulness — with appropriate costumes that varied from gray sweatshirts to soft, flowing fabrics in luminescent colors.

Tour de Force appreciates the generosity of its many sponsors, including grants from W.A. Stephenson Charitable Foundation, A.G. Edwards, Dr. and Mrs. Angelo Bonsutto and the Medina Arts Council. Corporate Level sponsors are Gaming Products Inc., Component Systems Inc., Bill Doraty KIA, Pat O’Brien Chevrolet, Property Adjustment Ltd., and Mike, Patty and Alison Sega. In addition, there are 25 Gold Level sponsors, 66 at the Silver Level, more than 70 at the Bronze Level and about 130 at the Friends Level.

Among the many family, friends and neighbors at the Saturday afternoon matinee were Nancy Marquard, Liz Fellhoelter, Bobbie Foy, Coni Wolk, Joe Molnar, Dan and Jenny Teachout, Laura Murray and Mike Sferro. A free matinee was presented Sunday afternoon for the county’s seniors.

TdF’s Board of Trustees is made up of president Francine LeRoy, vice president Raymond LeRoy, treasurer Patricia Sega, secretary Julie Nelson and members Molnar, Amber Wiley, Cheryl Gerberich Gorman, Marie Glad and John Hanna.

Realtor luncheon

As part of American Home Week from April 13 to 20, the Medina County Board of Realtors held its annual recognition luncheon April 17 at Weymouth Country Club.

President-elect Connie Cloud delivered the invocation.

President Emily Lopez and E.O. Lizbeth Kohler briefly described the Surround Sound Campaign, an effort to give accurate, realistic information and reassurance to consumers about real estate. Without minimizing the current market slump, they said the broad reports were like one weather generalized forecast: “Today will be sunny in the United States.”

Lopez introduced guests, thanked the affiliates, then invited Medina County Commissioner Pat Geissman to present a proclamation from the Board of Commissioners.

Affiliate Sheila Pinkerton recognized and congratulated realtor members who have been licensed for 25 years: Ed Cerney, Jean Kinney, Joe Schmidt, June Danielsen, Karen Gayner, Linda Remington, Mary Grubaugh, Michele Filous and Ron Morrow.
Cloud introduced the 2008 Production Award recipients. Over 25 Million: Barbara Wilson with Realty One Real Living-Wilson. Over 10 Million: Linda Febus with Howard Hanna Smythe Cramer Medina and Jamie Powers with Prudential Kovack Realtors Medina. Over 3 Million: David Gray with Realty One Medina, Ann Hayduk with Howard Hanna Smythe Cramer, Janis Ivory with Howard Hanna Smythe Cramer, Joy Molnar with MSL Realty Inc., Janice Nelson with J Nelson and Associates Realty and Mark Taylor with Keller Williams Tri-County Properties. There were 33 recipients in the Over 1 Million category.

The Medina County Board of Realtors Honor Society inductees were then acknowledged by Cloud: Jeff Brandon, Freida DiStaulo, Linda Febus, Tammy Frazier, Benjamin Gommel, Janet Gommel, Alan Hallock, Janis Ivory, William Kalfas, Rich Kassouf, Joyce Kiefer, Cynthia Kintop, Emily Lopez, Brandon Marquard, Mollie Pfister, Sheila Pinkerton, Thomas Rebescher, Joan Rundle, Judy Ruppelli, Rick Stallard, Judith Von Duyke and Anita Weaver.
Weaver presented the 2008 Outstanding Home Award to Jim and Mary Stefan and Matt and Kristie Stefan, who have beautifully refurbished a 1900s home on Greenwich Road.

The recipient of the 2008 Excellence in Community Service Award was Connie Cloud, presented by last year’s winner Madeline Laribee. The recipient of the 2008 Distinguished Service Award was Bo Miller, presented by last year’s winner Judy Ruppelli. The recipient of the 2008 Affiliate of the Year was Sarah Bittinger, presented by last year’s winner Carol Pollard, and finally, the recipient of the 2008 Realtor of the Year Award was Cindy Kintop, presented by last year’s winner Bill Kalfas.

Cloud reported on Realtors Political Action Committee. Last year, $20,014 was raised locally; this year the goal is $21,000. Karen O’Donnell, state RPAC representative, said Ohio raised $700,000 last year; its goal for this year is $750,000. The national goal is $10 million.

A few of the other attendees included Russ Weaver, Cliff Bellar, Medina County Commissioner Steve Hambley, Brett High, Michelle Boyd, Pat Householder, Judy Kalfas, Darlene Kovack, Tiffany Meyer, Ann Reusch, Kris High and Donna Stuver.

Huston may be reached at areanews@ohio.net.