June 30, 2016

Mostly clear

Social Scene: Project: LEARN auctions literacy

By Angela Huston

Special to The Gazette

A Signature Event, the 2008 Project: LEARN autographed book auction, was held Nov. 14 in the Grand Ballroom at Weymouth Country Club. About 125 guests bid on more than 85 silent auction items and purchased tickets for wine and jewelry raffles as well as a wooden bookcase filled with many mystery items.

Guest emcee was Scott Sabol, Fox 8 meteorologist, who engaged the audience in an amusing Project: LEARN trivia question and answer session. Charles Kay provided musical entertainment.

Special Events Coordinator Ann Stephens and Chairwoman Marilyn Sobotincic orchestrated the evening with the assistance of committee members Mary Jo Boyes, Mary Corall, Mary Rankin, Linda Smalley, Cindy Kemsuzian, Lynn Koch, Carol Starrick and Joanne Weiler. Smalley recently has been named Project: LEARN executive director.

Board President Randy Arehart introduced trustees and staff members and thanked the corporate sponsors:

Platinum — 620 Corp., The Gazette, North Coast Litho and Woodbine Products;

Silver — Craig and Rhonda Menzemer, Medina Rotary Club and Western Reserve Bank;

Bronze — Bil-Jac Foods, Brown and Amodio, Homestead Insurance, Medina Vision and Laser Centre, Partners in Plastic, Plasti-Kote Co. Inc., Sandridge Food Corp. and Trillium Creek.

More than 100 Friends of Project: LEARN were sponsors at seven different levels from $25 to $5,000.

Arehart then invited Betty Lynham to briefly talk about the first local literacy board before it became Project: LEARN.

Among the evening’s guests were Carol Jordan and Ken Horak, Janet and Bob Weidig, P.M. and Hannah Jones, Dick Lynham, Joe Kasa, Chuck and Sandy Calvert, Ed and Leilani Savick, George and Vicki Karabinus, Pam Voss, John Sobotincic, Pam Miller, Jim Boyes, Toby Kemsuzian, Bob and Pat Drum, Brian and Susan Harr, Barbara Dzur, Booker Smartman, Gene and Barbara Morris, Roger and Sarah Jane Ingraham, Jeff and Jackie Kehnle, Jim and Nancy Gowe, Carl and Sherry Abell, Jim and Paula Banks, Nancy Sprowls, Jim and Adrienne Gerspacher, Mark and Eve Whitmore, Bill and Marcia Young, Chris DiLorenzo and Will and Kathy Koran.

Clapper Awards

The 2008 Wadsworth Clapper Television Awards were presented Nov. 19 at the Grace Lutheran Fellowship Hall in Wadsworth.

Winners were recognized in 14 categories as well as for special achievements.

A full list of winners ran in The Gazette on Nov. 29.

Emcee John Madding introduced staff members Johanna Perrino, John Barnard, Ken Buck and new employees Todd Constantine, Drew Constantine and Sean Murphy. He said these awards, started in 1991, give viewers an opportunity to take part in the selection. This year 5,877 votes were cast online, the most ever.

Huston may be reached at areanews@ohio.net.