June 30, 2016

Partly sunny

Commissioner says she won’t run in 2010

MEDINA — County Commissioner Sharon Ray announced Friday she will not seek a third term in 2010.

She made the statement at a meeting of Recharge Medina County, a grassroots group that aims to launch political careers of local conservatives.

Ray, 47, of Wadsworth, said she is leaving because of “some changes in her family situation” and because she stumbled upon some unexpected career opportunities. She said she could not name her job possibilities because there are “a couple different things I’m considering and haven’t selected a final choice.”

She said she has been doing some work with Wadsworth Municipal Judge Stephen McIlvaine, for whom she was a bailiff before she was elected commissioner in 2002. Ray also served two terms on Wadsworth City Council.

Ray said she will endorse Sharon Township resident Kathryn Truman, who kicked off her campaign for Ray’s seat at the gathering Friday at the Medina Eagles Club. Truman is operations manager and lawyer for Medina- based Fechko Excavating.

Ray said earlier Friday the remaining 13 months of her term will be complex.

“This difficult economic time is going to continue to be a challenge, and we’re just going to continue to look for ways to economize,” she said. She also said she hopes to help the county’s Planning and Permitting Task Force see some results by the end of next year. She helped form the committee in June to find ways to streamline the planning and permitting process for builders in the county.

She said the person to take her seat likely will face budget and financial problems due to the economy. This year’s county budget is $4 million less than in 2008 and all department heads were asked to cut back.

“But I also think we’re going to see more commercial development in the county, so (the new commissioner will need to) make sure we prepare and plan for that accordingly,” she said.

Ray’s seat is the only one open in November 2010. Com¬missioners Steve Hambley and Pat Geissman ran for re-election in 2008. Commissioners serve a four-year term and are paid approximately $60,700 annually.

Contact Maria Kacik at (330) 721-4049 or mkacik@ohio.net.