June 30, 2016

Partly sunny

Electric co-op to elect trustees, vote on code change at meeting

WELLINGTON — Members of Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative will elect four to serve on the board of trustees and consider allowing future board members to be chosen by mail or email during the co-op’s annual meeting today at the Lorain County Fairgrounds.

Registration opens at 4 p.m., and the meeting includes a free dinner served 4 to 6:30 p.m. by Big Dog Catering. Co-op members should bring their signed registration card that was sent with their July electric bill.

Prior to the business meeting, Men of Steele will perform 5:30 p.m. in the grandstand. The business meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. in the grandstand and will feature reports from LMRE’s general manager Markus Bryant and board president Kenneth Diedrick.

Members will be able to visit a variety of business and wellness displays and browse a flea market. LifeShare Community Blood Services of Elyria will conduct a blood drive.

Kids can play in a bounce house, and other children’s activities also are planned.

The annual meeting will include the election of four trustees to the cooperative’s nine-member board. Incumbents James R. McConnell, Judy A. Pickworth and Keith E. Lowe are running unopposed for three-year terms.

A special election will be held for District 7 between Nova residents Jeff M. Beebe and Paul E. Bowman to fulfill a two-year term left vacant following the death of Trustee Phil Schneiter in February. District 7 includes Clear Creek, Jackson, Orange, Sullivan and Troy townships in Ashland County.

McConnell, of Pittsfield Township, represents District 2, which includes Henrietta, New Russia, Camden and Pittsfield townships in Lorain County and Florence Township in Erie County.

Pickworth is pursuing a third term representing LaGrange Township, which makes up District 5.

Lowe, of Homer Township, represents District 8, which includes Spencer and Homer townships and Spencer village in Medina County, and Congress and Canaan townships and Burbank village in Wayne County.

In addition, the board of trustees is recommending the membership adopt a Code of Regulations amendment to allow trustees to be elected by mail and/or electronically. Currently, members only can vote for trustee candidates at the annual meeting.

The board believes more people might participate if they could vote online or by mail, according to a news release.

Biographical information on candidates and a summary of the Code of Regulations amendment can be found in the July issue of Country Living magazine and the cooperative’s website: www.lmre.org.
LMRE serves 16,000 customers and maintains 1,527 miles of line in Lorain, Medina, Ashland, Huron and Wayne counties.

Contact Cindy Leise at (440) 329-7245 or cleise@chroniclet.com.

if you go
WHAT: Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative
WHEN: 4 p.m., registration and dinner; 5:30 p.m. Men of Steele entertainment; 6:30 business meeting.
WHERE: Lorain County Fairgrounds, 23000 Fairgrounds Road, Wellington.