June 24, 2016


3 GOP state legislators cruise to victory

Incumbent Republicans representing Medina County in the Ohio General Assembly swept to easy wins Tuesday, according to unofficial results from the Medina County Board of Elections.

Ohio House District 69

Speaker of the House Bill Batchelder won re-election against Democrat Judith Cross, a former Medina County common pleas judge.

Bill Batchelder

Batchelder, 69, will be entering his fourth and final term as representative of Ohio House District 69. This is his second stint in the Ohio House. He served from 1969 to 1999, when he was forced to leave because of term limits.

The speaker returned to the Ohio House in 2007 and was named house speaker during the 129th General Assembly.

Cross, 67, served two terms as common pleas judge, from 1986 to 1998.

The 69th District includes parts of the cities of Medina, Wadsworth and the eastern part of Brunswick Township. The townships of Medina, Wadsworth, Sharon, Granger, Hinckley, Guilford, Montville and Westfield area also included.

Ohio House District 70

Republican state Rep. Dave Hall, R-Millersburg, defeated challenger Loudonville Democrat Steve Johnson in the race for Ohio House District 70.

Hall campaigned on a promise to work to lessen the “tax and regulation burden” on businesses, as well as individuals, and ensure the state budget continues to be balanced.

Hall, 52, is a graduate of West Holmes High School. He did not attend college but received training in agriculture and science for a park and recreation director job in Holmes County.

From 1999 to 2008, he was a Holmes County commissioner.

Johnson, 62, was making his first bid for political office. For the last eight years, he’s worked as a treasurer and risk manager for Mansfield Plumbing Products and previously was employed by the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.

The 70th District includes the western portion of Brunswick and Homer, Spencer, Chatham, Litchfield, Liverpool and York townships.

Ohio Senate District 22

State Sen. Larry Obhof, R-Montville Township, easily won his bid to retain the 22nd District seat against Democrat James Riley.

Obhof was appointed in 2011 to replace Bob Gibbs, who was elected to the U.S House. Tuesday marked Obhof’s first time competing for elected office.

Riley, 60, of Sullivan Township, ran against Gibbs for the 22nd district seat in 2008 and challenged him for a state House seat in 2006.

Obhof, 34, is an attorney with Baker & Hostetler in Cleveland and was part of the legal team that challenged the constitutionality of the Affordable Care Act, or “ObamaCare.” He also teaches a course on legislation at Case Western Reserve University’s law school.

The new 22nd district, which has been redrawn following the 2010 census, covers all of Medina, Ashland and Richland counties and part of Holmes County.

Contact Steve Grazier at (330) 721-4012 or sgrazier@medina-gazette.com.