July 1, 2016

Intermittent clouds

5 locals make 1st team in All-Northeast Inland District basketball

COLUMBUS — Medina County will have at least five All-Ohioans.

The All-Northeast Inland District basketball teams were released Wednesday by the Associated Press, and a solid year across the board resulted in county names being scattered all over.

Billy Geschke

On the boys side, Medina senior Billy Geschke and Brunswick senior Kyle Wheeler were D-I first-team selections. Geshcke led the Northeast Ohio Conference in scoring, while Wheeler also was in the top 10.

Wadsworth senior Rachel Goddard, Medina senior Sarah Kinch and Brunswick senior Gabrielle Bulic were D-I first-team selections as well.

The five players will automatically receive All-Ohio mention next week.

Wadsworth’s Kyle Prunty was a third-team selection in D-I. Brunswick’s Ryan Badowski and Zach Parker, Cloverleaf’s Robby Buckwald, Highland’s Brogan and Brennan Scott, Medina’s Branden Wilkins and Wadsworth’s Austin White were special mention D-I.

Buckeye’s Jeff Miller and Garrett Beck were special mention in D-II.

Wadsworth’s McKenzie O’Brien was a second-team choice in D-I, while Highland’s AnnMarie Kirchner was third team.

Buckeye’s Jessica Banas (D-II), Highland’s Anna Rose Wiencek (D-I), Medina’s Angela Tesny (D-I) and Wadsworth’s Taylore Robinson and Peyton Booth were special mention.

Contact Albert Grindle at (330) 721-4043 or agrindle@medina-gazette.com.

Albert Grindle About Albert Grindle

Albert Grindle is a sportswriter for the Gazette. He can be reached at 330-721-4043 or agrindle@medina-gazette.com.