June 30, 2016

Partly sunny

Girls All-Ohio: Grizzlies’ Rachel Goddard named to 3rd team

COLUMBUS — A six-year wait is over.

The Associated Press Division I and II All-Ohio girls basketball teams were released Monday, and Wadsworth senior Rachel Goddard was named to the D-I third team.

Rachel Goddard

The 5-foot-7 point guard and reigning Gazette MVP becomes the first Wadsworth player to be selected to one of the top three units since Cassie Schrock was a 2007 first-team choice.

Medina senior forward Sarah Kinch and Brunswick center Gabrielle Bulic were special mention, while Grizzlies senior guard McKenzie O’Brien was honorable mention.

Goddard, who will continue her career at Miami of Ohio, was a two-year starter who helped Wadsworth advance to the Norwalk Regional championship game for the second straight season. She was honorable mention All-Ohio as a junior.

During the regular season, the right-handed dynamo averaged 13.0 points on better than 50 percent shooting to go with three assists and two steals. She then averaged 15.3 points during Medina Sectional/District action, highlighted by 16 points and six assists in the title game against Highland.

Wadsworth’s season ended Saturday with a 43-39 loss to Toledo Notre Dame.

Twinsburg’s Julie Solis, who coached Cloverleaf from 2001-04, was named D-I tri-Coach of the Year after leading the Tigers to their third consecutive state tournament. Twinsburg senior and Purdue recruit Ashley Morrissette was the D-I Player of the Year.

Other honorees from The Gazette’s 38-team coverage area included Solon’s Kristen Confroy (D-I first team), Solon’s Martha Thompson (D-I second team), Mentor’s Lauren Stefancin (D-I second team), Elyria’s Mary Jones (D-I special mention), Hudson’s Hannah Boesinger (D-I SM), Twinsburg’s Brooke Smith (D-I SM), Mayfield’s Shannon Zajec (D-I honorable mention), North Royalton’s Alison Smolinski (D-I HM) and Twinsburg’s Char-Dell Dunnigan (D-I HM).

Revere’s Kaitlin Vari and Fairview’s Katie Smith were special mention in D-II, while Revere’s Camryn Brown, Clearview’s Desiree Ray and Firelands’ Rachel Holowecky were honorable mention.

Contact Albert Grindle at (330) 721-4043 or agrindle@medina-gazette.com.

Albert Grindle About Albert Grindle

Albert Grindle is a sportswriter for the Gazette. He can be reached at 330-721-4043 or agrindle@medina-gazette.com.