July 23, 2016

Mostly sunny

Scholarships, dean’s lists, diplomas, military

Following is a list of local high school scholarship winners as well as college dean’s list recipients and graduates.


Mark J. Sutherland Memorial Rotary Scholarship: Four area students were presented with these competitive scholarships, worth $1,000 each — Nicholas Bavaro, Medina; Kouri Weber, Buckeye; and Adam Holowecky and Ashley Lengel, Highland. Recipients exemplify academic excellence, ‘service above self’ and leadership.

Medina County Auditor’s Office Scholarship: Alexandrea Hegarty of the Medina County Career Center (Cloverleaf) and Melanie Sonntag of Wadsworth High School each received the $500 scholarship.

SHC/The ARC of Medina County Awards Scholarship: Miranda Bateman, Lauren Cartwright and Jeremy Kerns are the 2013 H.O.P.E. Scholarship recipients. Each received a $1,000 scholarship to further their education in a disability-related field.

Sidney A. Ribeau President’s Leadership Academy at Bowling Green State University: Kaitlyn Johnson, Medina, will pursue a degree in early childhood education.

The American Association of University Women Scholarship: Carla Kaczmarski, Brunswick, and Laurie Beal, Wadsworth, each received the $1,000 scholarship. Kaczmarski is enrolled at Cuyahoga Community College and studying respiratory therapy. Beal is enrolled at the University of Akron where she plans to graduate in December with a bachelor’s degree in organization supervision.

Other awards

• Alex Muir, Brunswick, received LINK and National Honors Society, Brunswick Education Foundation and Brunswick Rotary scholarships. He will attend the University of Cincinnati to study chemical engineering in the honors program, where he also received a university scholarship.

• Nathan Canterbury, Brunswick, is a three-year academic letter recipient and also received the advanced placement scholar award. He will attend Cleveland State University and major in biomedical engineering focusing on researching complications to aid in cancer treatment.

• Jeffrey Neuhaus, Brunswick, received an academic scholarship from Villanova, where he will study chemical engineering.

• Katherine Schaffner, Brunswick, received honors and university scholarships from the University of Akron, where she will study biomedical engineering.

• Jennifer Sens, Brunswick, received superior awards for her solo and ensemble flute playing while at Brunswick High School. She received an academic scholarship and will major in theology at Duquesne University.

Dean’s lists

Boston University: Katie F. Schikowski, Medina.

Bowling Green State University: Rachel Fettinger, Medina.

The University of Findlay: Amanda Maxwell, Barberton; Philip Alfano, Brunswick; Dylan Cintula, Hinckley; Caitlin West, Litchfield Township; Andrew Baker, Jacquelyn Cook, Elizabeth Sablontny, Abigail Schuck, Catherine Weimers, Medina; Morgan Barnum and Caitlyn Gasser, Seville; Jacob Whitson, Liverpool Township; Samara Crouch; Brittany Sega, Wadsworth.

North Central College: Brent Gaither, Medina.

Waynesburg University: Lauren Grasso, Wadsworth, and Emily Schubert, Medina.

College of Wooster: Margaret Croghan, Medina; Alexa Hann, Seville; and William Pender, Brunswick.

College graduates

Baldwin-Wallace University:
• Brunswick — Ashley Bentley, Danielle Bohland, Danielle Bohland, George Brehm, James Brooks, Nicholaus Decuzzi, Megan Dlouhy, Shane Field, Jessica Hakes, Nicole Horvath, Nathan Howell, Nicole Johnson, Alex Johnson, Elaina Kenyon, James Koopman, Wendy Kuehn, Patrick Laguardia, Jayson Mamick, Ashley McComas, Jonathan Mountcastle, Jennifer Neumeyer, Heather Novak, Daniel Pfeiler, Amanda Piorkowski Carmen Ravanelli, Carmen Ravanelli, James Roder, Stephanie Rogers, Alyssa Simon, Heather Smead, Kaitlin Sweany, Kristen Szutkowski and Anthony Young.
Hinckley — Michael Cummings, Jennifer Emery, Melissa Erikson, Gregory Gorecki, Kimberly Hopkins, Anna Lindenmuth, Anna Lindenmuth, Charles Messina and Caryn Stanowick .
• Homer Township — Larry Pearson Jr. and Jennifer Volcansek.
• Litchfield Township — Robert Stanek and Brittany West.
• Liverpool Township — Annamarie Berg, Lindsey Mercer and McKenzie Nowak.
• Medina — Samantha Ania, Autumn Beechler, Bethany Bland, Sarah Borror, David Campbell, David Campbell, Kaci Church, Dallis Conrad, Jennifer DeSantis, Kelsie Erhard, Anthony Faciana, Ryan Fallow, James Fanning, Elizabeth Grahek, Tammy Hall, Ronald Hall, Susan Jaworski, Samuel LaGuardia, Joseph Lane, Gillian Laribee-Reid, Casey McKenna, Adam Miller Amanda Movens, David Naypauer, Kary Ostrander, Ryan Pastor, Rachel Pedersen, Darrell Quander, Lisa Runt, Brandon Russo, William Sauer, Tara Savage, Peter Schmidt-Sane, Mitchell Supan Doug Varner, Sarah Webb, Danny Westfall, Jennifer Westfall and Paige Whitaker.
• Wadsworth — Heather Ekers, Kelsey Richards and Jonathan Tenley.

Otterbein University: Elizabeth Berry, Kara Butcher, Julianna D’Errico and Sydney Salerno.


• Norfolk, Virginia-Marine Corps Pvt. Jacob Yancey and Marine Corps Pvt. John Brancifort, both of Brunswick; Marine Corps Pfc. Alexander Hicar and Marine Corps Pfc. Matthew Thomas, both of Medina; and Marine Corps Pvt. Colin Baker, of Wadsworth, have graduated from recruit training at Marine Corps Recruit Depot, Parris Island, S.C.

Gazette staff About Gazette staff

The Gazette is Medina County's daily local news source, serving the community since 1832. Contact The Gazette's news department at (330) 721-4065 or areanews@medina-gazette.com.