June 25, 2016


Sports: Babe Ruth League ends season in style

BRUNSWICK — The East beat the West 12-3 in the Brunswick Senior Babe Ruth League All-Star Game at Mooney Park.

Eleven players had hits for the East, with Tyler Mocio, Scotty Zipp and Elijah Galloway belting doubles. Mocio, Michael Gonzalex and Brad Richards shined on the mound.

Mitch Andzelik had three hits for the West and Josh McDonnell and Casie Mingas had two each, while Ryan Bohm clubbed a home run.

Bob Bowen coached the West and was assisted by Randy Hrabak and Shawn Kiss. The rest of the roster consisted of Jeff Anzo, Kyle Bowen, Jacob Busch, Cody Bukszar, Kevin Krul, Cooper Lang, Jake Mehalik, David Myatt, Jimmy Smith, Carlos Velez and home run derby winner Troy Spears.

Joe Wojdacz coached the East with help from Brian Clement, Ray DePaul and Joe Hetzel. The rest of the roster consisted of Ben Cottrell, Chad DePaul, Brian Fontana, Michael Fontana, Adam Harrell, J.T New, Nick Rienerth, Patrick Shaughnessy, Mark Witthuhn, Matt Witthuhn and Jake Wonder.

The Brewers won the league with a 12-4 record, followed by the Royals (11-4), Rangers (10-6), Braves (9-7), Cubs (8-8), Indians (7-7), Dodgers (7-9), Reds (6-10), Angels (4-11) and A’s (3-12).

The league will hold its annual “Angels in the Outfield” players-coaches game and other festivities Sunday beginning at 1 p.m. at Brunswick High. The Dogwood Rockers will provide entertainment beginning at 1:30 and the game will start at 3:30. Admission is $2.

Proceeds will go to a memorial scholarship fund for Brunswick students. Those wishing to make a donation can call Bowen at (440) 476-3705.


The under-13 Premier Pythons captured the Pony Eastern Zone Championships to advance to the Pony World Series, which begins Friday. Based out of Valley City, the Pythons are 54-8 and have won six tournaments this season. Team members are Michael Gallagher, Joe Freeman, Frankie Ciacchi, Logan Foerst, Seth Pluta, Ethan St. Clair, Trevor Denning, Karson Brzycki, Logan Doenges, Mark Mohnickey, Trey Psota and Griffin Hunt. The coaches are Mark Mohnickey and Brad Denning.


Carlos Tripp, Adrian Stockman, Kenneth Coleman and Tyrone Tripp won the title at the third annual Still Here Charity 3-on-3 Tournament, which featured 21 teams and set a record for fundraising. Proceeds go to support financially challenged youth basketball players in the area with pay-to-participate fees, as well as to the American Cancer Society and Kidney Foundation. Medina’s Seth Myers won the Bob Schulte Spirit Award, given annually to a participant who embodies the late Schulte’s love for the game, work ethic and sportsmanship.

• The Ohio Stampede, an eighth-grade AAU team, won the Central Ohio Basketball Classic in Columbus. Team members were Kyle Tretter, Benny Geschke, Luke Schaeffer, Evan Neczypor, Matt McCue, Jim Daw, Ryan Smith and Tyler Grabowski. The coaches were Bill Geschke and Tom Tretter.

• The Stockman Basketball Club’s 10th-grade team won the King of the Spring title. Team members were Mitchell Hlay, Zack Lalkowsi, Connor Huth, Alex Ruth, Joel Kipfer, Cliff Collyer and David Porter.


Recent Buckeye High graduate Allie Wingfield and her five-gaited American saddlebred gelding, Callaway’s Born A Winner, won the championship trophy in the junior exhibitor qualifying class at the Ohio State Fair in Columbus. Wingfield is trained by Steve Demien of Medina.

• The Ridgewood Stables Interscholastic Equestrian Association middle school team placed fifth at the IEA Nationals in Syracuse, N.Y. Team members were Maxeen Ramlo, Lauren Matthies, trainer Ashley Areddy and Payton Kiley.


Thirty-six students from Hinckley Elementary earned Presidential Physical Fitness Awards. Kindergartners Luisa Fragnoli and Elaina Wilson were honored, as were first-graders Ella Ross, Jillian Miller, Samuel Huttner, Jason Sambor and Carter Madden. Second-graders to notch the achievement were Anthony Crano, Mitch Zielinski, Dylan Jones, Dominic Kolda, Emily Cheng, Samantha Kovacs, Jenna Pennington and Wyatt Vorndran, with Morgan Piersall, Samantha Coyne, Madison Miller, Gabe Colbrunn, Jon Lewicki, Ryan McKeen and Krysten LeMassena being recognized among third-graders. Fourth-grade representatives were Madison Sauer, Kyla Ciryak, Taylor Levine, Kyle Borsuk, Madeline Lutzko, Maria Vitko, Sonya Hartman, Riley Madden, Rian Klein, Jake Pashkovskiy and Sarah Cooper and fifth-grade honorees were Lucas Mason, Amanda Orban and Kris Watkins.


The U-16 Buckeye Fire finished second at the National Junior Volleyball Championships in Chicago. Highland players Nikki Tecco, Paige Tanzer and Mallory Adams were on the team.


The Medina Makos had eight simmers compete at the Notre Dame Aquatics Center in South Bend, Ind., and finished seventh out of 20 squads. Samantha Petruzzi was the top point scorer for the girls and Anthony Petruzzi led the boys. Also posting top-10 finishes were Alexis Agee, Sarah Cuppett and Allie Lyncha.


The U-16 Excalibur won the Memorial Day Tournament in Edmonton, Pa., with a 5-0 record. Team members were Kelly Lamb, Abbey Ramirez, Keely Birsic, Paige Hepner, Casey Aguinaga, Grace Tigue, Alexia Keller, Tori Dickson, Sam Hudson, Andie Widmer, Maria Krist, Rachel Schirripa, Miera Serio, Laney Haviland, Peyton Davis and Jordan Newcomer. The coaches were Walter Schlothauer and Ryan Schlothauer.


The Cloverleaf Recreation Center will hold an open tennis tournament based on age and level of play. The event will take place Saturday and the cost is $25. For more information, call (330) 948-1323.

Contact Rick Noland at (330) 721-4061 or rnoland@medina-gazette.com.

Rick Noland About Rick Noland

Rick Noland is the Cavs beat writer for The Gazette and the author of "Over Time," a compilation of stories he's written in more than 30 years as a journalist. He can be reached at 330-721-4061 or rnoland@medina-gazette.com. Like him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.