June 26, 2016

Partly sunny

Seven seeking Medina board seat in November election

November ballots in Medina County will contain a slate of candidates for school board, township trustee and city councils.

The filing deadline for the Nov. 5 election was Wednesday, and seven candidates filed to run for three open seats on the Medina school board.

Incumbents Tom Cahalan and Doug Adamczyk, who both were appointed earlier this year to fill vacancies, have filed to run for re-election and five newcomers also seek a seat on the board.

Angie Kovacs, Bryon Macron, Ron Ross, Eric Carpenter and Robert Skidmore filed their petitions with the Medina County Board of Elections by the deadline. The candidates’ petitions have not yet been certified.

Board member Bill Grenfell decided not to seek another term.

Other contested school board races

• Highland Schools. Incumbent Bob Kelly, Dan Petek and Diane Thomas seek to keep their seats and face a challenge from newcomer Christopher Wolny.

• Cloverleaf Schools. Incumbent Jane Rych is seeking re-election, but William Hutson and Chris Berry, whose terms also expire this year, did not file to run for re-election. Joining Rych in the race are Jason Myers, Michael Maloney Jr., and William Schmock.

• Buckeye Schools. Incumbents Ken Barco, Tracy Mattern and Jon Stahl are all seeking re-election and face a challenge from Kim Cecelich.

• Brunswick Schools. Incumbent Lisa Durichko is seeking another term and faces a challenge from newcomers Wadzanai Hoert, Grant Relic and Tammy Schebek for three open positions. Board members Thomas Neumann and Bonnie Nelson are not seeking re-election.

• Black River Schools. Incumbents Janet Eichel and Bruce Goff are seeking re-election but face challenges from Patrick Boyle, Thomas Brown, Tim Clifford and Timothy Simmons who have filed to run for the two open seats.

• Wadsworth Schools. Incumbent Chuck Pfeister is seeking re-election, but board members Lisa Jones and James McIlvaine did not file to run.

Jason Arnold, Julie Batey, Mark Casalinova, Amanda Gordon, Ron Mendel and Donald Thomas will challenge Pfeister for the three open seats.

Contested city races

• Medina. The only contested City Council race is in the 1st Ward where Brian Hilberg, who was appointed to the seat in 2012, faces a challenge from Jay Smith.

• Wadsworth. There are contested Council races in the city’s 3rd and 4th wards along with the at-large seat.

In the at-large race, Republicans Joseph Rodgers, Bob Thurber and David Williams and incumbent Patricia Haskins, a Democrat, will square off for three open seats. In the 3rd Ward, Democrat John Sharkey IV, an incumbent, faces a challenge from Republican Michael Robart. In the 4th Ward, incumbent Bruce Darlington, a Republican, faces a challenge from Democrat David Anderson.

Contested township races

• Granger. Donald Baker and Brooks Rorapaugh seek to serve the township as fiscal officer. Barbara Beach is not seeking re-election.

• Harrisville. Incumbent Thomas Packard and Joe Remington are seeking re-election and face a challenge from Michael Klinect for the two open seats on the board of trustees.

• Hinckley. Incumbents David Sambor and Raymond Schulte are seeking re-election and face challenges from Bill Horton and Lucas May for the two open seats on the board of trustees.

• Homer. Incumbent Bryan Rose is seeking re-election and is challenged by Cynthia Berry and Albert Jeffery for two open seats on the board of trustees.

• Lafayette. Incumbents Lynda Bowers and Nanci Shanley will be challenged by James Aylsworth and Michael Costello for two open seats on the board of trustees.

• Litchfield. Incumbents Dennis Horvath and Nancy Wargo are up for re-election with a challenge from Christopher Teodecki and Suzan Virosteck for the two open seats on the board of trustees.

• Wadsworth. Incumbent Jim Gardner is up for re-election and faces challenges from Shawn Bouscher, Bob Engler and William McCall for two open seats on the board of trustees. Dennis Kreider’s term expires at the end of the year, but he isn’t seeking re-election.

• Westfield. Incumbents Gary Harris and Ron Oiler are up for re-election and face challenges from Michael Schmidt and William Thombs for the two open seats on the board of trustees.

Contested village races

• Lodi. Incumbents John Carpenter and Patricia Graham have filed to run along with Letha Mapes, Patricia May and Cecelia Sivard for four open seats on Council. Karl Hagelin and Larry Mapes have filed to run for the Board of Public Affairs.

• Spencer. Council members Danny DeRossett, Thomas Gehring and James Stangel are seeking re-election. They face challenges from Trisha Herrick and Josh Kelling for the four open seats.

• Westfield Center. Incumbents Terence Bittner, Darryl Chidsey, Patricia Edington and Gregory Oakes are all seeking re-election. They face a challenge from Kevin Rych for one of the four open seats.


• Brunswick. A new 10-year, 1.2-mill road levy to maintain city streets, roads and bridges.

• Brunswick Hills Township. A renewal of a five-year, 4-mill levy for fire and EMS services.

• Homer Township. A replacement of a five-year, 2.5-mill levy for roads and bridges.

• York Township. A new five-year, 1.7-mill levy for roads and bridges.

School issues

• Brunswick Schools. A new two-year, 4.9-mill emergency levy for operating expenses.

• Cloverleaf Schools. A new 10-year, 8.3-mill emergency levy for operating expenses.

• Medina Schools. A new five-year, 5.9-mill emergency levy for operating expenses.

Other issues

• Cleveland Metropolitan Park District (all Hinckley Township precincts). A 10-year, 2.7-mill levy renewal and increase to conserve and maintain park land.

• Brunswick Precinct 2D. Sunday alcoholic beverage sales for Mucho Buenos, 1421 Town Center Blvd.

• Medina Precinct 2B. Sunday alcoholic beverage sales at the Sunoco gas station, 427 N. Court St.

Contact reporter Loren Genson at (330) 721-4063 or lgenson@medina-gazette.com.

Loren Genson About Loren Genson

Loren Genson was The Gazette's senior reporter. From August 2012 through September 2015, she covered Brunswick city and state and national government. To contact The Gazette, call the managing editor at (330) 721-4065.