May 24, 2016


Three Medina Gridiron Youth Football teams claim crowns

Three Medina Gridiron Youth Football teams won titles and another finished second at the Gridiron Grinder Tournament, which featured 40 tackle squads and 20 flag teams.

The event raised $5,000, which will be used for equipment and field improvements for Medina youth.

Bringing home titles were the Bantam Green, under-10 Gold and Varsity White teams, while the U-9 White finished second.

Bantam Green team members were Evan Feora, Joseph Storm, Chris Depasquale, Ryan Cipullo, Nolan Falkosky, Joey Cipro, Jesse Rahe, Zach Bowser, Nick Neumeyer, Jack Stobbs, Blaine Chrisman, Dylan Caldwell, Elijah Zimmerman, Andrew Dixon, Austin Stratton, Josh Swanson and Dominic Larussa.

The U-10 Gold squad was made up of Luke Hensley, Drew Hensley, Ethan Silvis, Simon Orzell, Bryce Beech, Aaron Jensen, Colton Ziehm, Drew Lazor, Casey Caddell, Alex Bartfai, Zachary Zaccaro, Brandon Geschke, William Lemon, Cyler Johnson, Joshua Batke, Lucas Schaefer, Andrew Delac, Anthony Santivasci, Andrew Ross, Nicholas Yanuck, Hunter Stratton and Bruce Newlands.

Varsity White team members were Aidan Brandt, Dominik Rahe, Nicholas Claxton, Kyle Maruna, Spencer Sergent, Nathan Rainaldi, Robert Roup, A.J. Gaich, Dylan O’Dear, Darion Lapointe, Noah Burrelli, Brennan Cook, Dylon Monroe, Otto Weight, Zachary Wojnarowsky, Anthony Hardy, Devin White, Tyler Hatch, Kyle Szumski, Ronald Newlands, Drew Lane and Andrew Brewer.

The second-place U-9 White consisted of Drew Allar, Dylan Rupprecht, Matthew Hamula, Charles Klicman, Sean Gorze, Luke Fischer, Vincent Pfahl, Colt Crabiel, Jackson Gaich, Ryan Miklich, Andrew Gormley, Ty Harrison, Parker Wilson, Luke Petrowski, Cody Groat, Tyler Wise, Vance Cisman, Nick Grillis and Wyatt Dunbar.


The U-9 Buckeye Class HH team finished 24-2 and advanced to the state championship before falling 8-6 to the Ohio Rack out of Alliance. Buckeye beat Louisville 13-2 in five innings in the semifinals. Team members were Jake Knapp, Preston DiMarco, Danny Flood, Ben Barnes, Gavin Niese, A.J. Cur, Cameron Stout, Nick Bostic, Brock Marcum, Logan Cravatas, Chase Miller and Dylan Dotson. The coaches were Mike Knapp, Scott Niese, Greg Cravtas and Scott Marcum.

• The U-11 Medina Sting Green finished 22-3 and captured the Cuyahoga Valley Baseball Association non-bid Southern Division championship. Team members were Jackson Nielsen, Spencer Aylward, Jacob Ambrosetti, Nick Epplen, Ryan Knapp, Eddie Hoegler, Ellis Johanson, Kaden Andrasik, Sean Kennedy, David Haberkorn and Evan Smigel. The coaches were Mike Johanson, Dave Andrasik, Ed Hoegler, Brian Epplen and Jim Smigel.

• The U-14 Brunswick All-Stars defeated a team from Medina 15-2. Team members were Jake Vadini, Zac Horak, James Hancock, Kyle Hovan, Kevin Klingbeil, Austin Blackley, Nick Gagne, Josh Haynie, Tanner Tremonto, Corvus McClain, Kevin Greger and Brandon McClain. The coaches were Kevin Vadini, Bob Klingbeil and Robert McClain.


The U-13 Mean Green won the Division 3 title at the Medina Fastpitch Tournament. Team members were Cassidy Fuge, Mallorie Rohrbach, McKenzie Arona, Amanda Winquist, MacKenzie Lee, Haile Payne, Kaitlyn Hudak, Taylor Liezert, Alexandra Kell, Tabitha Krnac, Grace Advent, Erin Brod, Zoe Quisenberry and Sierra Brickles. The coaches were John Hudak, Mike Liezert and Gary Fuge.

• Spencer Township’s Kayla Gardner was twice named player of the game while playing for the U-14 Ohio Explosion at the FAST Nationals in Clermont, Fla. Players from Ohio, Massachusetts, Florida and Brazil were on hand. Gardner is a freshman at Black River.


Under the direction of Tim Varrelmann, Katie Schwendeman and Tess Fanello, Falling Oaks captured its third straight South West Swim League title. Team members were Christian Walburn, Emily Walburn, Aaron Angell, Brendon Figler, Meagan Figler, Kellen Morford, Brayden Morford, Paige Olsavsky, Austin Olsavsky, Brooke Wilson, Brianna Wilson, Kennedy Crean, Delaney Crean, Courtney Crean, Lexxie Mack, Joey Mack, Max Gabrielson, Skylar Hall, Katie Larussa, Jessica Calloway, Maggie Calloway, Clare Esposito, Sam Ross, Carly Ross, Kate Stump, Nick Stump, Matt Stump, Cariley Van Drei, Emily Austin, Owen Chaye, Conner Chaye, Brian Cuppett, Kayla Zurowski, Chris Daw, Jeff Hurst, Tony Gossett, Alex Loeper, Ben Loeper, Josh Burns, Derek Walker, Allison Walker, Kyle Balas, Jackson Hintz, Ryan Neubauer, Gillian Scuzs, Owen Scuzs, Caitlin Danilovic, Noah Hoffman, Jordan Schell, Chloe Butts, Corinne Butts, Kyle Estridge, Kolin Estridge, Kolton Estridge, Phoebe Easton, Audrey McMillan, Amelia Savage, Tanner Savage, Spencer Savage, Noah Constance, Louis Schaefer, Robert Olszewski, Julia Dorn, Nathan Staab, Rachel Grumbach, Robin Danzcak, Maggie Nelson and Gracie Nelson.


The U-9 Ohio Fusion won the North Ridgeville Corn Fest championship. Team members were Alex Miller, Alex Johnson, Nolan Martin, Dennis Butts, Noah Simpson, Nicholas Cabacungan, River Hall, Courtney Dowe and Aidan Simpson.


Glenn Mitchell, Bryan Mitchell, Curtis Mitchell and Ken Carpenter won the Still Here four-man scramble at Rawiga Country Club. Thirteen teams participated, with proceeds going to the American Cancer Society, The Kidney Foundation and to help area youth basketball players meet pay-to-participate fees. Rob Wininger received the Bob Schulte Spirit Award, given annually to someone who displays sportsmanship, teamwork and hard work.

Contact Rick Noland at (330) 721-4061 or Fan him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.

Rick Noland About Rick Noland

Rick Noland is the Cavs beat writer for The Gazette and the author of "Over Time," a compilation of stories he's written in more than 30 years as a journalist. He can be reached at 330-721-4061 or Like him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.