July 1, 2016


High school football: Bruce Kinsey D-II Offensive Player of Year

The resume spoke for itself: a perfect record, No. 6 rating in The Associated Press state poll, 2,472 yards total offense and 29 touchdowns in the regular season.

Highland quarterback Bruce Kinsey was the unanimous choice for Division II Offensive Player of the Year when the All-Northeast Inland District teams were released Wednesday by the AP.

The Hornets’ Tom Lombardo was the division’s Coach of the Year.

Kinsey’s honor guarantees the 6-foot-1, 190-pound senior will be named first-team All-Ohio next week. He also will be eligible for Ohio D-II Offensive Player of the Year along with Loveland QB Nate Slagel, Zanesville QB Thomas Wibbeler, Mount Vernon running back J.D. Orr and players to be named from the Northeast Lakes and Northwest districts.

Kinsey was joined on first team by teammates Myles Houska (OL, 6-4, 280, Sr.), Cory Moncol (WR, 6-1, 170, Sr.), Alex Harris (RB, 5-8, 170, Sr.) and James Friedl (LB, 6-1, 190, Sr.) and eight other Medina Countians in different divisions.

Leading the non-Highland contingent was Black River running back Andrew Vaughn, who was runner-up to Fairless quarterback Hunter Wells for D-V Offensive Player of the Year. Vaughn, a three-time first-team All-Northeast Inland selection, rushed for 2,203 yards and scored 188 points in the regular season.

Pirates offensive lineman Gabe Eaton (6-1, 255, Sr.) also was a first-team D-V pick.

Wadsworth running back Martice Jackson (5-8, 209, Sr.) and linebacker Nick Winkler (5-10, 172, Sr.) were the top county nominees in D-I. They were complemented on the first team by teammate Ryan Looser (DB, 6-2, 179, Sr.), Brunswick linebacker Elijah Galloway (6-2, 195, Sr.) and punter Zach Parker (6-3, 180, Sr.) and Medina offensive tackle Zeke Martin (6-5, 250, Jr.).

Wadsworth resident Ted Steiber (OL, 6-6, 300) was a D-III first-team selection for Hoban.

Second-team selections went to Brunswick’s Justin Boey (DL, 6-1, 205, Sr.) and David Kelty (DB, 6-2, 185, Sr.) and Wadsworth’s Austin White (DB, 6-3, 198, Jr.) and Scott Campbell (P, 5-9, 183, Sr.) in D-I, Buckeye’s Cody Fortney (RB, 6-1, 185, Sr.), Highland’s Grant Wallace (LB, 6-2, 180, Jr.) and Coltin Kinsey (DB, 5-11, 165, Jr.) in D-II and Cloverleaf’s Austin Smith (WR, 5-9, 185, Sr.) and Devin Cunningham (P, 6-0, 205, Sr.) in D-III.

Black River’s Jeremy Wiggins, Brett Nagy and Chris Kane, Brunswick’s Tom Knuff, Jake Ambrose and Tyler Laffin, Buckeye’s Christian Petek, Zak Diaz and Alex Wilk, Cloverleaf’s Tom Wangler, Highland’s Nick Corvo, Collin Paich and Tyler Frederick, Medina’s A.J. Hoptry and Kenny Wilder and Wadsworth’s Chandler Martinez, Jake Lamp and Zach Metz were honorable mention.

Medina resident Mike Meadows was D-IV honorable mention for CVCA.

Highland High history teacher Tim Budd was D-VI Coach of the Year after leading St. Thomas Aquinas to its third consecutive playoff berth.

Albert Grindle About Albert Grindle

Albert Grindle is a sportswriter for the Gazette. He can be reached at 330-721-4043 or agrindle@medina-gazette.com.