June 28, 2016

Intermittent clouds

GOP’s Cray is newest member of county elections board

MEDINA — The Medina County Board of Elections has a new member.

Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted appointed Larry E. Cray, 72, to the board Monday.

Cray, a Harrisville Township resident who serves as vice chairman of the Medina County Republican Party’s executive committee, replaces Teresa Cotman.

Cotman resigned from the board Nov. 22 for personal reasons.

Cray, a retired sales representative for Do It Best Corp., is a prominent member of the county Republican Party. He was instrumental in starting a county young Republicans group and is involved in organizing the party’s booth for the Medina County Fair.

Cray said the appointment typically would go to the chair of the executive committee. But because party chair Nancy Abbot is an elected official, she would have had to give up her post as Medina municipal clerk of courts to serve on the board.

Cray said the board faces a real challenge ahead with the move to a larger office space.

“Hopefully I can be of help,” he said.

Ohio law requires bipartisan representation on county boards of election. Each board consists of two Republican members and two Democratic members, and all must be qualified electors in the county where they serve.

The other Republican on the board is Bill Heck. Democrats are chairwoman Pamela Miller and John Welker.

Cray was recommended for the board by the executive committee of the Medina County Republican Party.

Contact reporter Kiera Manion-Fischer at (330) 721-4049 or kfischer@medina-gazette.com.