July 24, 2016

Intermittent clouds

Kiwanis honors Medina County students of the year

Medina County’s outstanding high school students were honored at Williams on the Lake in Medina on Wednesday night, at the 41st annual Medina County Kiwanis Student of the Year Banquet.

The Kiwanis Student of the Month Program recognizes students from each of Medina County’s eight high schools on a monthly basis. All juniors and seniors are eligible for the honor. Medina County Auditor Mike Kovack is the coordinator of the program.

Kristine Camper

Kristine Camper

Ben Eyssen

Ben Eyssen

The Student of the Year award is unique in that the winners are not picked by teachers, administrators or outside judges, but by their peers.

Sixteen monthly awards are given to students from each school and one male and one female are chosen as the top countywide students of the month. From all months, two are chosen as students of the year.

This year, two Brunswick seniors, Kristine Camper and Ben Eyssen, received the top honor.

Kristine was Brunswick’s December student of the month.

Kristine ranks fifth in her class of 560 students. She is a two-year member of National Honor Society and serves as vice president of the group. She is a member of Medina County Junior Leadership and is a lector at St. Ambrose Catholic Parish in Brunswick.

Kristine is a four-year member of the girls track team and serves as captain. She also serves as captain of the cross country team.

She is an AP scholar and plans to pursue a doctorate degree in kinesiology after graduating from high school.

Ben, Brunswick’s October student of the month, is fourth in his class and has been a member of debate club, Link Crew and president of National Honor Society.

Ben has competed on the swim team and was captain of the cross country team. He is a two-time qualifier for state in cross country and was named a cross country Academic All-Ohioan. A Buckeye Boys State attendee, Ben also received the William Parschen Outstanding Student Award his junior year.

Male and female students of the month at their respective schools also were honored at the banquet:

• Black River High School, Sebastian Vidika and Angela Kazek;

• Buckeye High School, Jeffrey Miller and Jessica Nash;

• Cloverleaf High School, Dakota Duncan and Kaylee Gutschow;

• Highland High School, Alec Withers and Elizabeth Schmidt;

• Medina High School, Andrew Shea and Kathryn Grenfell;

• Medina County Career Center, Jacob Paul and Kaitlin Duncan;

• Wadsworth High School, Luke Swanson and Cara Powell.

• Cloverleaf High School received the Terry Shuman Memorial Trophy for having the most outstanding students for the year. They had seven countywide students of the month.

The Rev. Robin Hart, senior minister at Northside Christian Church in Wadsworth, gave the keynote address, encouraging students to follow the ABC’s in life: attitude, beliefs and character.

Jim Haymond, president of the Medina Noon Kiwanis Club, which sponsors the program, assisted in handing out awards to the students honored.

Contact reporter Dan Pompili at (330) 721-4012 or dpompili@medina-gazette.com. Follow him on Twitter @danpomp32.